Back in Focus!

Back in Focus!

I’ve been out of SL for a while, maybe a year. My last blogpost on this blog was in 2010, and on FabFree in 2011 :)!! But I’ve still been following my lovely friend bloggers at FabFree and some other random blogs and feeds. I logged in today and started playing with the feature I was most curious about, which is “Depth of Field”. I loved it from pictures and love it now!
back in focus I turned my Graphics up to ‘Ultra’ and  clicked on “Depth of field”! When I turned it on, everything got blurry! I use the regular SL viewer.

back in focus

So I went with Torley’s Settings for May 2012! I love Torley btw ;), and it got me back in focus again!

Torley’s preferred settings (as of May 2012)

These are optimized for big bokeh, favoring strength over subtlety. Requires a fairly powerful graphics card, or performance will suffer:

Preparation:

  1. Tap Ctrl-0 4-6 times to zoom in and narrow the field of view, creating a more intimate relationship with the tightly-focused subject matter.
  2. Select Advanced menu > Debug Settings.
  3. Set RenderVolumeLODFactor = 8 or even 16, although that may be overkill. This makes it so curves don’t look jaggy when zoomed up close.
  4. As-needed, set RenderAvatarLODFactor = 8 or another high value too.

And the specific DoF settings:

    • CameraAspectRatio = 1.5
    • CameraFieldOfView = 10
      • Higher is more blur, although you’ll need to vary this depending on the subject’s size and your camera’s distance from it.
    • CameraFNumber = 3
      • Again, vary this to taste. Lower is more blur.
    • CameraFocalLength = 250
      • Makes it easier to get up-close and personal with the subject without fuzzing out.
    • CameraMaxCoC = 20
      • Boosted from the default of 10, a good balance.

back in focus

While taking pictures It seems that this feature asks a lot from your computers capacity as I almost crashed, hence the black screen. (Well I did crash eventually)!

back in focus

I have to take smaller pictures to get me in focus again. I love the effect of “depth of field” though, it blurres out the background nice so it doesn’t distract from the person in the picture. I love this feature, and sure will be staying around to play and take pictures in SL again! I’m also wearing MESH pants which is new to me too!

Wearing:
Pants – Maitreya – Zipper skinny pants – Pastel Mint
Top – AOHARU – OffShoulderGauzeTunic – Flower/Red
Wedges – *YS&YS* Penelope Wedge Beige
Hair – >TRUTH< Bronte – mirage

xxx Farah

One thought on “Back in Focus!

Leave a comment